Jobs are a huge part of your FP system. Through Jobs, agencies can schedule out work to the Task level, track time, and generate Invoices to their client. Jobs can each be set with their own Job Status. To what extent you use Job Statuses is up to you, but we recommend using this field to track where a Job is at in it's lifecycle.
Please review this article to learn more about the Job Status field.
Where does Job Status Show?
Job Status shows, and is editable, on the Summary tab of any Job.
As well as on the Basic Info tab of any Job.
What do the Job Statuses mean?
Your Function Point system includes several default Job Statuses. We define them as follows:
Open = This is active, current work. Time is being tracked against this job.
Completed = The work is probably done, but invoices may still need to be sent to the client. Completed Jobs cannot have time tracked or Tasks added, nor do they appear on your Dashboard. These Jobs will still pull to a Job List View, when you choose the "Find Active" option.
Invoiced = Jobs will automatically move to this status when you create a Final Invoice type against this Job. Until there is a Final Invoice against this Job, you will not see this Job Status listed on the Job Details page. An Invoiced Job can no longer have time tracked against it, and will no longer appear on your Dashboard.
Closed = All the work is done, timesheets all submitted, invoices all sent. A Closed Job can no longer have time tracked against it, and will no longer appear on your Dashboard.
Cancelled = Job did not get approved or is not going forward. Cannot have time tracked to it, nor will it appear on your Dashboard.
Can I Add or Edit the Job Statuses?
The default Job Statuses cannot be deleted from your system, but can be marked as Inactive, and no longer show in your main system as options. Add as many new Job Status options as you like. To do so, you will need access to the Admin area of the system.
Navigate to Admin > System Set-Up > List Maintenance.
Choose the list called Job Status on the left, to populate the editable area on the right. Click Save should you make any changes to this list.
What do the aliases mean?
The "Alias Of" option, gives you the opportunity to break work into more than just Open and Closed, or Active and Inactive. In naming your Job Status, also select an alias, so that the system will know how to behave when a Job is moved to that Status.
Alias of Open: When applied to a Job Status, the Job will remain active and open. Time can be tracked to these Jobs, and these Jobs will pull to any lists that search for active work. These Jobs will show up on the Jobs tile of the Dashboard.
Aliases of Completed, Invoiced, Cancelled and Closed: When applied to a Job Status, the Job will be inactive and closed. Time cannot be tracked to these Jobs, and these Jobs will not pull to any lists that search for active work. These Jobs will not show on the Jobs tile of the Dashboard.
Can I Bulk Edit Job Statuses?
Yes you can - with the proper permissions. To do this, begin by getting to a list view of Jobs. Hover over Jobs in the main navigation bar and choose Find Job.
Enter any parameters into the available fields to narrow down your search, and click Find Jobs. Alternately, just hit Find Active to get a list of all your current work.
You will land on a Job List. There is a Default View, and an Editable List View. From this view, the content for Status, Delivery Date, and a bonus text field called Date Description are all editable row by row. Changes you make will save as you go.
We hope you'll find Job Statuses to be an effective way to track the lifecycle of work in your system, and we welcome your questions or concerns: firstname.lastname@example.org